The 5th Annual HiPipo Music Awards Religious Category and A cappella Nominees {Vote}


The nominations for the 5th annual HiPipo Music Awards (#HMA2017) were week released from Monday 5th December to Friday 9th December.

Under the theme ‘The Fans Decide’, the 5th HiPipo Music Awards have the will award many nominees including Gospel musicians who were nominated in the Religious song of the year. As with the previous years, you must note that this is not a gospel-music-only category and as a matter of fact, the previous winner was Swahaba Kasumba.

This year in the religious song of the year, Coopy bly has been given a nod for his role on Akikwasaganya, Levixone is nominated for Ani, Exodus for his Happy single, Omusiibi by Swahaba Kasumba, Talemwa by Maureen Nantume and Pastor Bugembe and Sinze Ninja by Naira Ali.

Make it a point to rally behind your favourite musicians by voting.

Meanwhile, there is a category, the Commended A-Cappella Group (Commendation Certificate) with musicians such as, Canaan Gents, Cape Brothers, For HIM, His Grace, Jehovah Shalom, Melody Gents, and The Harmonics.

A total of 35 categories were released including four special categories namely; Quinquennial Africa Music Vanguard Award (2012/2016), Music Icon of the Decade (Uganda: 2006-2016), HiPipo Video Trailblazer Award and Lifetime Achievement Award.  The other categories include East Africa Best Video, East Africa Super Hit, Song of the Year from Kenya, Tanzania, Rwanda and South Sudan. The nomination list is then completed with Uganda’s best performers as selected from different music genres and styles.

Innocent Kawooya, the CEO of HiPipo noted after releasing the nominations, “We are here again. After several months of serious research, stakeholders’ engagement and intense consultation, we are excited to unveil the nominees for the 5th edition of HiPipo Music Awards. The nominees are a clear reflection of the dynamism and difference in this year’s music. We congratulate all the nominees.”

He added: “It is now the time for the fans to vote for the overall winners. This year we have website, sms and social media voting. Each of these voting avenues will contribute a percentage to the overall winners. It is important to note that the Awards keep growing and now covering the whole of Africa. While the Awards are in their 5th year, HiPipo is celebrating 10 years. The past decade has seen us innovate and develop the music industry. As HiPipo, we are committed to continue with developing the music industry even amidst several challenges.”

This year’s HiPipo Music Awards nomination process received over 30,000 nomination forms filled and submitted by Fans, Musicians, Promoters and Media. The songs eligible for nominations were those with either audio or video or both released between 1stNovember 2015 and 1st November 2016.

As per the Awards theme – the Fans Decide, voting is ongoing via Social Media and Website while SMS and WhatsApp voting via mobile number +256773248282. On SMS and WhatsApp, fans will vote through submitting Award Category and preferred Artiste or song e.g. “#HMA2017  #HiPipoArtistOfTheYear  #NomineeName”. Normal SMS and data rates apply. The voting exercise will continue till4th February 2017.

HiPipo and her partners will present the Awards on 4th February 2017.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s