Benjaah Edwards Writes About, ‘Worship Not A Show’ Movement.

IMG_0469

Amari Yesu Singer, Benjaah Edwards Takes An Unexpected Direction.

In a Medium post title, “Worship Not A Show: Am Bashing Shows?” Benjaah Edwards addressed the move to understand what worship is and why the experience at St Francis Makerere, a collaboration with other musicians is a must for all.

Here I am. It is a few minutes past midnight. I am thinking to myself very critically what this #WorshipNotAShow can mean to different people. It might sound like a stern warning to some saying, “Worship, Not A Show!” with a look that would scare a baby into tears. Others might read it to mean, “Do not do any more shows, just worship.” I am also sure that some thing I am merely bashing organizers of shows because I think they are lacking in terms of ‘worship.’ You see, how we use words is important. I discovered this recently.

So, why #WorshipNotAShow? Why did God drop this phrase into my spirit at the beginning of the year 2016 during my private time of prayer? I was telling a friend that God knows and understands me. I love statements that get you thinking. This time it came from God not my crazy head. I was not trying to play with your curiosity. If you were keen, #WorshipNotAShow has been my Twitter name on and off for a while.

Is it about me? Am my trying to get you all to come for an event that I have put together? Perhaps! But this time, I cannot say that this is the heart of the movement. I call it a movement because it is something beyond me. If it were up-to me, I would be focusing something else and not posting things that will get you to think about what you call worship.

AWAY WORSHIP - WORSHIP NOT A SHOW

As soon as God placed this in my heart, he gave me a venue, a team of musicians to share this with. I knew that, because this is a God-vision, He would have to be the one to open doors. I did not want to hit walls at all. Well, Friday the 20th is almost here. #WorshipNotAShow has got us all evaluating what we each define worship as. Certainly, it cannot be the few minutes before the preacher steps onto the stage to proclaim, “We worship You Lord!” And no, I do not wish to suggest that that is unauthentic but, sometimes, because we have called slow music worship, we have forgotten that it is about intimacy and not a show.

I was talking to a friend and I told them that, the difference between a show and a lifelong relationship or experience is, the former is an event that happens sometimes, once a week, month or even year. We go for a show for the pomp and the one-time experience. A worshiper aught to live with God and not just for God as my friend put it.

Ultimately, the vision is to get us to a place of sincerity and to avoid offering to God lip-service. I am glad to celebrate AWAY Worship experience which has collaborated with us. Also, to the different media houses that have accorded us the opportunity to pass this message, I am eternally grateful and may God bless you.

Also, in my interaction with many people, I am come to the awareness that this something God is doing in so many other places and with different people from different congregations.

Our theme is;

One thing have I desired of the LORD, that will I seek after; that I may dwell in the house of the LORD all the days of my life, to behold the beauty of the LORD, and to inquire in his temple.
Psalms 27:4 KJV

I See a generation

Leave a Reply

