The Good, Bad, Ugly, Golola Moses & List Of VIGA Awards 2015/2016 Winners


Straight from the list of nominees that key industry players disagreed with to what some considered a poorly organised event to holding a 2015 award in 2016, what was the good in VIGA Awards? Well, as much as the list of nominees was disagreeable, the list of winners was encouraging. Holy Keane, Coopy Bly, Levixone, Julie Mutesasira, Robinsan among other Artistes all walked away with awards. See list to know who won.

If you followed the conversation we had on Twitter (#SaturdayTalkUg) about VIGA Awards, you must have noticed questions like, why some Artistes were included in the list and that it showed a lack of knowledge of the industry. Some of the favorites were excluded. It is perhaps always true that taste and preferences can not be the same and that not every great artiste will be nominated. We however believe it should be agreeable. Also, the categories still need to be improved.

We hope to see improvement in the next edition. In fact, some even suggested that the team goes back to the drawing board and work from scratch. During the event, it is reported that the hosts of the night, needed to exercised maturity in dealing with the audience. One of the highlights was the appearance on Golola Moses, Uganda’s most prominent kickboxing sportsman known for his funny take on things.

Full List Of VIGA AWARDS 2015/2016 Winners

Acapella category: Canaan Gents – Wanitata
Traditional music Category: Betty Muwanguzi – Yagala Uganda
Hiphop/Rap Category: Virtuous woman – New Testament
Dancehall/Ragga Category: Robin San – Simple life
RnB/Jazz/Soul Category: Brian Lubega – Asaanide
Kadongo kamu Category: Kaggwa Edward Frances – Enyambala
Reggae Category: Coopybly – Nkulembeera Mukama
Afropop/Beat; Kwaito category: Irene Kayondo – Asinga
Afristyle/Soukous/Zouk category: Rachel Namubiru – Teri Akwenkana
Diaspora song /artist (for Ugandan artists based outside Uganda): The Bahatizz
Techno/House and Rock category: Holy Keane- Love Love
Video Producer Category: Enock – Cloud media
Audio Producer Category: Kiwa Jason
Worship/praise song category: Justine Nabbosa – Oli Katonda
Inspirational song category: Judith Babirye – Sitarudi
Video of the year (for works that acclaim immense popularity): Coopybly- What a love
Best performer (for artists who exhibit great proficiency at performances): Betty Bada
Elgon song category: Stephen Adhogomola- Oli munene
Exemplary theme category (commendable non-gospel positive message songs): Betty Nakibuuka- Mama
Special entity song/artist (for ‘secular’ artist with the best gospel song): Lyto Boss ft Solome Mirembe/ Omwetaaga
Upcoming/New talent: Patty Baligasima
Social media song/artist (for best promoted and marketed on social media: Canaan Gents
Collaboration song: Dangelo Busuulwa & Judith babirye/ Waliwo ensonga
Male artist of the year: Levixone
Female artist of the year: Julie Mutesasira
Song of the year: Wilson Bugembe- Daala

Picture Source: From The Bahatizz


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s