[Currently Trending] Gospel Rapper Lagum Speaks About 1Hunid & Upcoming Project

Lagum Taking Great Strides. Don't say you were not warned.

Ugandan Rapper Lagum Taking Great Strides. Don’t say you were not warned.

If you are a Gospel Hip Hop and Rap fanatic, Lagum needs no introduction because you must have kept tabs on him from Elevator Music Group and of course, the song 1Hunid where he features Ruyonga and Tucker HD. We had the honor of interviewing him and this is how it went down.

Lagum. We’re still wondering whether to ask about this new name. Tell us the transitions your stage name has undergone to finally becoming Lagum and why?

Well, I changed my name to Lagum mainly because of the theme for my album. Social Lives is all about being who you are and not being afraid to show it regardless of what people may think about you. That being said, I thought it would be best if my stage name was actually my real name. For two main reasons. 1. To show that there is no difference between who I am on stage and who I am off it.

2. To show that I’m practicing what I preach in this album.

We first knew you as a member of Elevator Music, should the fans of the group be worried? 

No they should definitely not be worried. Elevator Music Empire has evolved into something very similar to a label. So everyone who was in the group before is still very much in it now. The only difference is we are all solo artists under the umbrella of Elevator Music Empire. We are also trying to expand our roster just a tad bit. Maybe add one or two female artists. We will reveal more as we start to shape the whole thing properly.

Fast forward. 1Hunid is currently receiving good airplay on both Christian and secular radio, tell us how you got the idea. How was the song birthed? 

To be honest, it’s not much of a story! I was in the studio one day working on a beat and I was loving it man. I just randomly said,1hunid when the beat dropped and it fit perfectly.

At what point did you know you would be bringing Ruyonga and Tucker HD on board and how did that happen? 

Almost immediately! Like I said before I was in the studio, finished the beat, sent it to Ruyonga and Tucker, and they went crazy. RRuu came in the next day to record his verse, I think! We were that excited about it!

So, the song beat is ready, your verses done, what did the three of you think of the song before its release? 

We knew it was going to be a problem from day 1! Aint no question about that.

You are a music producer and rapper, do you see yourself being more the producer or more of the rapper? 

Id consider myself more of a producer. It’s what I want to do for the rest of my life. Plus you aint gon see a 45-year-old Lagum rapping outchea. Nah. Aint about that life!

If you were to choose one, would you be the producer only or rapper only? 

Producer. Definitely.

What’s your view of the Hip Hop and Rap industry in Uganda?

Well, it’s still very young, I think. That being said, I still believe we have a lot to learn. However, there is no doubt about the talent we have here. What we need to figure out is how do we showcase that talent in a country that predominantly favors dance music? That is the million dollar question.

What is the state of Christian Hip Hop and rap in Uganda? 

I think its growing fast! Every day it seems like a new rapper is popping up, which is always good to see. I just think we need to figure out how to come together and push everyone. Once we do that there’s no stopping us.

Do you sometimes feel like some Hip hop and rap Artistes are trying too much to sound Western and hence failing to strike a chord with Ugandan/African listeners? 

I mean, yes of course I do. But at the same time I have people coming up and telling me that I sound a bit too western. Which to be honest is not something I’ve forced. I kind of just grew up listening to a lot of hip hop and that’s the culture I’ve grown up with. All I’ll say about this is just be who you are. People gon hate for sure, but it’s so much more satisfying when they appreciate you for being who you are. Trust me.

If yes, what do you think needs to be done? 

I always say, Know yourself, be yourself. Imitation is limitation. Be who you are and it wont matter what they think about you.

Of course we are bound to ask you who your top five Rappers are. 

Tupac, Kendrick Lamar, J Givens, Andy Mineo, and Ruyonga

Again, we most definitely have to ask you what we should look out for after 1Hunid. 

I think I mentioned something about an album. Let me elaborate. On the 13th of September my first studio album will be released! The track list and album artwork will be revealed in about two weeks. Apart from that, I’m working on a music video for a song titled Kings and Queens. Y’all aint ready for that one, trust me!

Do you have any final remarks? 

I just want to go ahead and thank all those who have supported EVM. I know its been a long and often boring ride because of the long periods that we wouldn’t release music. But that will change soon. Y’all better watch out.

One response to “[Currently Trending] Gospel Rapper Lagum Speaks About 1Hunid & Upcoming Project

  1. Pingback: Blog: Gospel Rapper Lagum Speaks About 1Hunid &...·

Leave a Reply

